Comparison · self-hostable PaaS platforms

Coolify vs Dokploy

Coolify: Self-hostable PaaS alternative to Vercel/Heroku/Netlify to deploy apps/databases and 360+ one-click services.
Dokploy: Free self-hostable PaaS (open-source alternative to Vercel/Netlify/Heroku) to deploy and manage apps and databases.

Requirements

Side-by-side VPS specs

Every value is taken from each app’s RunOnVPS dataset entry. Badges show whether a figure is an official project figure or a RunOnVPS estimate — never compare the two as if they were equal.

Coolify vs Dokploy hardware requirements and facts
ResourceCoolifyDokploy
Minimum RAM2 GB Official2 GB Official
Minimum CPU2 cores OfficialNot stated Not stated
Minimum disk10 GB Official30 GB Official
Recommended RAM4 GB Estimated4 GB Estimated
Recommended CPU2 cores Estimated2 vCPU Estimated
Recommended diskNot stated Not statedNot stated Not stated
Suggested VPS tier (our sizing)4 GB RAM tier4 GB RAM tier
GPUNot requiredNot required
Docker supportYesYes
LicenceApache-2.0Apache-2.0 (core) + Dokploy Source Available License for /proprietary directories
GitHub stars~64k~38k
Commercial alternativeVercel / Heroku / NetlifyVercel / Netlify / Heroku
CategoryAutomation / AI / DevAutomation / AI / Dev

Disk figures describe the application footprint recorded in the dataset. Personal media, documents, backups and other user data can require substantially more storage. Full source notes: Coolify requirements · Dokploy requirements.

Who should pick it

Coolify

Pick Coolify if you want a PaaS whose install docs publish the complete minimum line — 2 cores / 2 GB RAM / 10 GB disk — and 360+ one-click services.

See the full Coolify requirements →

Who should pick it

Dokploy

Pick Dokploy if you want a PaaS with an official 2 GB RAM minimum and you can give it the larger official disk floor of 30 GB. Note that its installation docs state no CPU minimum.

See the full Dokploy requirements →

Verdict

The short version

  • Recommended RAM is identical in our dataset (4 GB, estimated for both), so the published differences are disk (10 GB vs 30 GB minimum) and CPU disclosure (Coolify publishes 2 cores; Dokploy publishes none).
  • Both are Apache-2.0 at the core; Dokploy’s /proprietary directories are under a separate source-available licence.
  • Coolify is larger on GitHub in our dataset (~64k vs ~38k stars, checked 2026-10-24).
  • Both figures describe the platform itself — whatever you deploy on top still needs its own RAM and disk on the same server.

Neither verdict nor table scores the apps against each other — the right pick depends on the job, the licence you can accept, and how much of the spec is published rather than estimated. If you plan to run either alongside other apps, add it to a multi-app VPS estimate →