Comparison · self-hosted workflow automation

n8n vs Activepieces

n8n: Fair-code workflow automation platform with native AI capabilities and 400+ integrations.
Activepieces: Open-source workflow/business automation platform with a visual flow builder and 200+ integrations.

Requirements

Side-by-side VPS specs

Every value is taken from each app’s RunOnVPS dataset entry. Badges show whether a figure is an official project figure or a RunOnVPS estimate — never compare the two as if they were equal.

n8n vs Activepieces hardware requirements and facts
Resourcen8nActivepieces
Minimum RAM2 GB Estimated4 GB Official
Minimum CPU1 vCPU Estimated2 vCPU Official
Minimum disk10 GB Estimated20 GB Estimated
Recommended RAM4 GB Estimated8 GB Estimated
Recommended CPU2 vCPU Estimated4 vCPU Estimated
Recommended diskNot stated Not statedNot stated Not stated
Suggested VPS tier (our sizing)4 GB RAM tier8 GB RAM tier
GPUNot requiredNot required
Docker supportYesYes
LicenceSustainable Use License (fair-code)MIT (core; ee portions under separate enterprise license)
GitHub stars~208k25192
Commercial alternativeZapier / MakeZapier / Make
CategoryAutomation / AI / DevAutomation / AI / Dev

Disk figures describe the application footprint recorded in the dataset. Personal media, documents, backups and other user data can require substantially more storage. Full source notes: n8n requirements · Activepieces requirements.

Who should pick it

n8n

Pick n8n if you want the larger integration catalogue in its tagline (400+ integrations) and native AI capabilities. Be aware its licence is fair-code (the Sustainable Use License), not an OSI open-source licence.

See the full n8n requirements →

Who should pick it

Activepieces

Pick Activepieces if an MIT-licensed core matters to you and your server meets its official minimum of 2 vCPU and 4 GB RAM for the visual flow builder stack.

See the full Activepieces requirements →

Verdict

The short version

  • The RAM rows are not like-for-like: Activepieces publishes an official 4 GB minimum, while n8n publishes no hardware minimum at all — so n8n’s lower figures are RunOnVPS estimates, not project figures.
  • Our recommended rows put n8n on the 4 GB tier and Activepieces on the 8 GB tier.
  • Licence is the sharpest difference: n8n is fair-code under the Sustainable Use License; Activepieces’ core is MIT, with its ee/ portions under a separate enterprise licence.
  • n8n is far larger on GitHub in our dataset (~208k vs ~25k stars, checked 2026-10-24).

Neither verdict nor table scores the apps against each other — the right pick depends on the job, the licence you can accept, and how much of the spec is published rather than estimated. If you plan to run either alongside other apps, add it to a multi-app VPS estimate →